New Recipe: Post-workout Protein Shake!

Hey everyone!  I’m officially done with this semester, which means more time for blogging!  Woo-hoo!

Today I have a recipe to share with all of you for a perfect post-workout snack!  If you like bananas, coconut, and vanilla, I think you’ll enjoy it 🙂  We’ll get to that later though!

This past Tuesday was my last day of classes, so my parents came up to help move some stuff out of my apartment since I’ll be transferring to a school back in PA next year.  We went to two very cool restaurants for lunch and dinner.

For lunch, we went to Match 65.  We went there with the idea of sitting outside in the beautiful, warm, sunny weather, but decided it was too hot, so we settled on eating inside in the cool air conditioning.  I ordered the organic chicken salad with corn, tomatoes, avocado, and heart of palm, which was all served over spinach.  ImageDelish!

After packing everything up in my apartment, I had one last night class to go to.  Afterwards we went to Bottega for dinner.  This time we got to sit outside since it had cooled down a bit.  One of my favorite things about New York City is the outdoor seating at restaurants in warm weather – brunch is probably my favorite meal for this because the city is just waking up and enjoying a sunny morning outdoors is so relaxing to me.  I also love to people watch!

Image

Onto the food…for appetizers my mom ordered the Insalata Di Spinaci – Baby Spinach, Roasted Almonds, Blackberries & Goat Cheese in Honey Vinaigrette…Image

and my dad ordered breaded clams as an appetizer, which I forgot to snap a picture of.  I tried a little of each.  The goat cheese on the spinach salad definitely made it a winner.

For dinner, I ordered the red snapper filet with capers, olives, and a light tomato sauce.  I had never tried red snapper before this, but it was cooked perfectly.  I wish I could cook everything to the perfect tenderness.  It’s definitely a skill!

Image

My dad had another one of their specials, which was chicken with mushrooms in a balsamic sauce.Image

My mom ordered some kind of homemade pasta special they had that night topped with different kinds of seafood.ImageImagePapa Bear and MeImageMy mom and I both got cappuccinos after dinner as a little treat!

Image

ImageIt was quite the lovely evening!

…and the recipe for the post workout shake!

Vanilla Banana Protein Shake

IMG_2432

Ingredients:

  • 1 small banana or 1/2 of a bigger one
  • Ice
  • Coconut Almond Milk (Enough to keep all ingredients moving and blended)
  • 1 Scoop French Vanilla Designer Whey Protein Powder
  • 1 tsp peanut butter

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender, blend, and enjoy!

Caution:  This shake is so good, you might not be able to put it down after the first sip, causing brain-freeze.  (I’m speaking from experience here.)

I wasn’t expecting the flavor of the coconut to come out so much in the shake, but it was a pleasant surprise after the first sip.  It almost tasted like a pina colada, with more of a banana flavor.

Hope you try it!

4 thoughts on “New Recipe: Post-workout Protein Shake!

    • Yay, let me know how you like it! The only reason I had almond coconut milk was because they were out of my usual almond milk at the store! It’s by Blue Diamond, if that helps! I’m sure other brands make it too though!

Leave a Reply

