i sweat pink.

I arrived home from Fitness magazine’s meet & tweet to find this…

Image

…my signature tank and pink shoelaces from Fit Approach, because ‘kicking ass is better done in pretty shoes.’  Alyse and Jamie, the co-founders of Fit Approach even sent a hand written note along! Love them!  If you haven’t heard of Fit Approach yet, here’s their mission statement:

We believe that kicking ass is best done in pretty shoes. We’ve learned that real women sweat, and sweat hard. We know that assertiveness, strength, and ambition are the ultimate feminine qualities. We concede that sometimes it takes hours to get ready, but we’re also no strangers to just rolling out of bed and going. We’re convinced that we run faster in pink shoelaces. We believe in pushing ourselves, and we believe in giving ourselves a break, too. We’re all about the rush of endorphins and the thrill of the challenge. We’re all for looking great and feeling even better. We’re committed to finding our best fit, and making it stick.

I couldn’t have said it better myself.  Women are making quite the entrance into the world of fitness.  The myth that lifting weights makes women bulk up is slowly fading.  Many fitness apparel brands are even starting campaigns to motivate those women who already do workout and to encourage those who want to get started.  They provide a community of support and ‘women power,’ if you will!

-Under Armour is currently running their third What’s Beautiful competition.  Check out my profile and follow me on my challenge here.

-Athleta is using the tagline “Power to the She” to motivate women to reach their full potential…and then some!

-Reebok’s Women’s Crossfit line includes a new statement printed on their apparel saying, “Strength is beautiful.”

So a few weeks ago, I was lucky enough to be invited to be a part of this motivating, women’s health and fitness community as a Fit Approach ambassador.   I love how they acknowledge that we, as women, embrace our feminine qualities, but at the same time, we’re not afraid to get a little sweaty…or a lot of sweaty.  I’ll be the first to admit that I can be a typical girl.  I love shopping…I love doing my hair, doing my nails, and yes – sometimes I do spend an hour or two getting ready.  But you know what I also love?  Finishing a hard run that has me red in the face and dripping sweat.  Or being able to increase the weight in a strength training exercise.  Contrary to popular belief, women are able to lift with the guys and then still rock their heels later that night.
Photobucket

#sweatpink

7 thoughts on “i sweat pink.

  1. I seriously LOVE that women are really starting to make an impact into the fitness realm and that top brands recognize it. Love the campaigns, the slogans, pretty much all of it.

Leave a Reply

