Pennsylvania Dutch Much?

This morning started with getting my blood drawn! Eek!  I hate, hate, hate getting blood drawn…and shots.  I am the biggest baby when it comes to needles and my own blood.

It is such a yucky day here – rainy and cold.  So when I got home, my hot banana oatmeal in a jar was more than comforting.  I “lit” the fire place,

Image

cuddled up on the couch with sadie,

Image

and enjoyed my oats while watching GMA!  Getting up and ready for the gym after breakfast was a struggle, as you might imagine.

IMG_1556

Here’s a close-up of my oats.  My oats had banana mixed in, topped with more banana slices, some blueberries, almonds, all in an almost empty cashew butter jar.

IMG_1547

This was my first time doing oats in a jar.  When I got to all the cashew butter at the bottom, I felt like I had struck gold.  Love this stuff!

So you might be wondering by now what the title of this post is referring to.  Yesterday after my doctor’s appointment, my mom and I hit up the farmer’s market which was right next to my doctor’s office. How convenient 🙂 I love this place.  I have been going there since I was little with my mom and even my grandmother.  It’s one of those places that is old, and VERY Pennsylvania Dutch. There’s not too many places like that around here anymore, so it’s nice that this place is still going strong.  They’re only open Thursday-Saturday.  All the vendors are extremely personable and helpful.  It’s always nice to have friendly conversation with someone you’re giving business to, and you know they really appreciate it.

IMG_1515

The man at the one produce stand striked up a conversation with us as we were paying.  After we paid, he gathered up a box of strawberries, a mango, and two plums and said not to worry about it.  This stuff only happens at the farmer’s market.  Super nice guy!

IMG_1530

IMG_1526

Berry heaven!

IMG_1522

IMG_1520

This is the most adorable cupcake business, Amy’s Sweets and Treats.  My mom and I stood there talking to the owner, Amy, for a good ten minutes!  She told us how she started up the business after getting laid off from a few different jobs in the corporate world.  She basically gave up on the corporate world and her parents convinced her start her own cupcake business since she always loved to bake. And so she did, and her business has been continually growing!  She also has tons of flavors, which made it really hard to choose!

IMG_1542

The market has a few different meat stands throughout.  Their stuff is always of excellent quality.

poultrymarket

IMG_1518

IMG_1533

Below, a stand that sells a variety of jellies, jams, and honeys.

IMG_1534

My favorite place in the whole market – The Kiffle Kitchen!  I’m a huge fan of the walnut kind!

IMG_1528

kiffles

The produce we bought – all for about $20.

IMG_1538

Later that evening, my friend Elyse and I grabbed dinner at Wegman’s.  I love Wegmans’ cafe, especially their salad bar.  I got a mix of spinach and romaine and loaded it with all different veggies!  Salads are always so much better when you don’t have to do all the cutting up of the veggies yourself, don’t you think?

Also while at Wegmans, I picked up a half loaf of Wegman’s 12-Ancient Grain Cranberry bread.  This never lasts long in our house!

IMG_1562

Lunch today was a spinach salad, with some cucumbers, tomatoes, parmesan cheese, topped with a hard-boiled egg and a slice of the 12-Ancient Grain Bread with peanut butter on the side.

IMG_1563

Happy Friday and enjoy your weekend everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

