Roasted Root Vegetable Medley

This morning I enjoyed another one of those chilly, yet sunny and refreshing walks to the gym.  There’s something about being out in the early morning in the city that gives me such a productive feeling.  It sets the mood for my whole day – hence me being productive and writing a blog post right now!  But really, no matter where I am, I get things done when I start my day early.  I’ve always been a huge morning person.  I snatched a pic of the still-rising sun shining through the buildings down the avenue.  Despite the fact that I have an apartment in the city, I still find myself doing these stereotypical tourist-y things.  At the very least, I’d like to think I’ve learned to hide it well and not be as obvious about taking pictures as some of the tourists I see around Time Square, walking with the lens of their camera glued to their eye.

Image

Having little food in the fridge forced me to get creative for lunch.  I made egg whites, with shredded parmesan, frozen broccoli, and some sundried tomatoes.  I served the egg whites over the last of my spinach, with a spoonful of hummus, some lemon juice, grape tomatoes and I also threw a few pieces of leftover turkey breast in there too. It was pretty good considering the lack of ingredients I had to work with.

Image

and on the side, I snacked on a bowl of HUGE strawberries!

Image

After lunch, I headed out to Starbucks, where I’m currently sitting working on some work for school and obviously blogging.

I haven’t had a chance to post since Easter, and I want to share this awesome recipe for a Roasted Root Vegetable Medley I made for our Easter dinner.  Everyone in my family, even those who are less health-conscious loved it!  And when you woo even the less health-conscious ones on a healthy concoction, you know it’s good!

Image

The amount of veggies that went in this was insane!  We fed about 12 people with it and there were still leftovers.  Use your best judgement to decide how much of each veggie you want depending on which ones you like more than others and how many people you have to feed.

Ingredients:

– Turnips

– Parsnips

– Brussel Sprouts

– Asparagus

– Whole Carrots

-Sweet potatoes, peeled

– Fennel

-Red Beets, peeled

– White onion

– Whole Garlic Cloves (unpeeled)

– Full rosemary Sprigs

Directions:

Leave asparagus, carrots, brussel sprouts, and garlic whole.  All other vegetables should be cut up into different sizes and shapes.  Toss vegetables with enough olive oil to lightly coat all vegetables.  Bake at 400 degrees.  Like I said, I used a lot of vegetables so mine took close to two hours for all of the vegetables to cook through and get that roasted effect.  For about 4-6 servings, it should only take about 45 minutes to an hour – you’ll have kind of keep an eye on them after 45 minutes.

Image

Many of us had never had parsnips, turnips or fennel before, and they all kind of look similar once they’re chopped up too, so it was funny watching everybody guess what each vegetable was on their plate.

Keeping with the productive flow, I’m off to do more school work. I have a rather exciting night to look forward to though.  I’m going to see The Lucky Guy on Broadway starring Tom Hanks.  It looks like a good one!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Root Vegetable Medley

Leave a Reply

