“Broccoli roasting on an open fire…” & Lemon Garlic Tilapia

When I first started changing the way I ate, my parents (my dad especially) were a little skeptical and considered it a bit “silly,” if you will. After a while, my mom started to change her eating habits too.  I’d like to say I inspired her!  She cut out all the processed and fatty foods such as sausage, pasta, white flour, chips, etc and increased her consumption of whole, fresh foods such as whole grains, fruits and vegetables.  Through changing her diet alone, she lost weight after a matter of a few weeks!  She was so excited the first time she was getting dressed one morning and one of her usual pairs of pants was suddenly too big!

Now, just recently, my dad has changed his eating habits too, and of course being male, he dramatically dropped weight within weeks.  What made him finally come around, you ask?  Egg whites.

Every Sunday, my dad and I go out for breakfast, and I usually order an egg white omelet.  After getting the iPhone 5 which came with the My Fitness Pal app, he put in his regular egg omelet one day and then I guess out of curiosity, entered egg whites, and saw the huge difference in calories.  He called me right away to tell me how he couldn’t believe the difference, and I was like “Well, yeah!  I told you this!”  It’s like he thinks I make this stuff up.

Since then, he has really worked on incorporating more vegetables, fruits, lean proteins and whole grains into his diet.  Every few days I’ll get a call or a text from him telling me some healthy choice he made – like yesterday for example.

Image

…and no, he doesn’t really have a blog.  He thinks he’s being funny by trying to mock me.

So today he came over and for lunch we roasted a whole array of vegetables…yummy!

Let’s rewind to breakfast real quick – whipped banana oatmeal.  I’m hesitant to even call this breakfast.  It was too good!  I got the recipe from Kath Eats Real Food.  This woman is an oatmeal queen and has some awesome combinations on there.

Image

Dinner was light and fresh – Baked Lemon Garlic Tilapia with lemon parmesan asparagus.

Image

For the tilapia:

Ingredients:

– 3 – 4oz tilapia filets

– Juice from one lemon

– 1 clove of garlic, crushed

– 1/4 c. White cooking wine

– Parsley

– Freshly Ground Pepper

Directions:

1.  Combine lemon juice, garlic, and white cooking wine in a small dish.

2.  Arrange tilapia on greased baking dish, and pour lemon juice mixture over the fillets.

3.  Sprinkle parsley and pepper on top of filets, and top each fillet with a few lemon slices.

Image

4.  Bake in the oven at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Image

For the asparagus, I squeezed lemon juice over the spears, and then sprinkled some grated parmesan over that, and baked them in the oven at 375 degrees for about 15 minutes.

Image

I’m off to relax for the rest of the night!

One thought on ““Broccoli roasting on an open fire…” & Lemon Garlic Tilapia

  1. This looks so wonderfully delicious. It is 220am and you have me feeling hungry 🙂 I will certainly give this recipe a try. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to learning from you in the future 🙂 I recently started a food blog too and hopefully will have it as informative as yours 🙂 Natasha

Leave a Reply

