Egg White Veggie Frittata – Great Recipe for Easter!

On my way home from the gym this morning, I stopped at the grocery store to pick up some fruit.  After that little snow storm we had yesterday, the sun decided to introduce itself again today, and it was feeling a little like Spring.  I keep forgetting that it is actually Spring.  I guess it’s kind of hard to remember that when we’re still getting snow storms every week.  With the sun out and the sound of birds chirping, all I wanted was a medley of fresh fruit.  I am berry-obsessed, so I was ecstatic to find that strawberries were three for $5 and buy three, get one free, so I got four pints of strawberries for $5…score!  I also bought some watermelon.

When I got home, I cut up the strawberries to store in a tupperware container in the fridge.

strawberries

Then I started on lunch.  Lunch today was an egg white frittata with veggies and shredded parmesan.  Frittatas and omelets are great for using up any leftover veggies you have. I had leftover broccoli and asparagus in my fridge, so I used those along with yellow onion, half of one crushed garlic clove, and some sun-dried tomatoes.  This is also a great idea to make for Easter.  I’m thinking it might be making an appearance at my Easter meal – a much larger version of course.

frittata1

Ingredients:

3/4 c. egg whites

Any veggies you want

1/2 garlic clove, crushed

Oregano, basil, & freshly ground pepper

1 1/2 t. of water

2 t. shredded parmesan cheese

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a small pan greased with a spray oil (such as Pam), add crushed garlic and seasonings over low-medium heat.

3.  Add cut veggies to the pan until cooked through.

frittata veggies

4.  In a bowl, whisk together egg whites and water.

5.  In a small greased pyrex dish or a pan that is oven-safe, combine the egg whites, veggies, and 1 1/2 tsp of the cheese.

6.  Put in the oven for 40 minutes.

7.  Three minutes before the cooking time is done, sprinkle remaining parmesan cheese on top of the frittata, and put back in the oven for the remaining cooking time.

frittata2

On the side, I had my super refreshing fruit salad of strawberries, watermelon, and some green grapes!

fruitsalad

Dinner was quickly put together and was a spin-off of the Honey Mustard Turkey & Pear Salad that I made last week.  I love the honey mustard dressing in that salad.  It’s something different from my usual balsamic vinegar or red wine vinegar and olive oil.  The honey mustard goes great with the turkey.

Sticking with the theme of using leftovers today, I added leftover turkey breast on top of spinach and spring mix.  I also added some thinly sliced yellow onion, tomato, a little bit of chopped scallion, and some muenster cheese cubes.  And on top, went that oh so yummy honey mustard dressing, except this time I added a little bit of dijon to it as well.

turkeysalad

Dessert later will probably be some more strawberries and watermelon and will most likely be eaten over the new Dance Moms episode. Is anyone else as sucked into this show as I am?!

2 thoughts on “Egg White Veggie Frittata – Great Recipe for Easter!

  1. Pingback: Healthy Easter Recipes | Blondes Have More Run

Leave a Reply

