It’s the Small Things

The weather today was beautiful for a change, so after a bit of a lazy morning, I just wanted to get outside and enjoy the day!

But first, my day started off with a bowl of Cinnamon Banana Oats.

Ingredients:

1 tsp Coconut Oil

1 banana

1 cup quick cooking steel-cut oats

2 cups water

cinnamon

nutmeg

chopped walnuts

Directions:

1.  Bring 2 cups of water to a boil in a pot.

2.  Add the oats, lower the heat to a simmer, and cover, stirring occasionally for 5-7 minutes.

3.  Heat coconut oil in a pan over low-medium heat.

2.  Slice half of the banana and add the banana slices to the pan and sprinkle with cinnamon and nutmeg.

3.  Cook banana slices on each side for about 4-5 minutes, or until they have browned.

Image

4.  When oats are done, split between two bowls, and split the other half of the banana into the two bowls and stir to mash the banana.

5.  Top with the browned banana slices, and chopped walnuts.  Sprinkle with more cinnamon if desired, as I usually do 🙂

Image

(Recipe serves 2)

I have recently come to the conclusion that I am obsessed with oatmeal.  I think it’s because of the chewy texture and the sweet flavor, with either a nutty crunch if I add nuts, or a creamy nutty taste if I add a nut butter.  It’s almost like dessert.  Sad that these are the things I’m obsessed with, I know, but I’m hoping at least some of you are able to relate.  And if not, and you want to just tell me that anyway, I’m completely okay with that.

After my lazy morning, which included watching some awfully creepy Lifetime movie (redundant, I know) called The Trainer, my mom and I took a ride out to this health foods store called Echo Hill Country Store.  Fun fact – it’s run by Mennonites.  At Echo Hill, they sell most of their items in bulk.  They have every kind of grain you can imagine, every kind of flour you can imagine, actual honey comb, homemade nut butters and fruit spreads, chia and flax seeds, and much more all packed into this teeny tiny store.  It was awesome because everything was relatively cheap too!

ImageThis was just one of the shelves.  Imagine walking through about three aisles of this!

I was so excited by everything when I first went in, I had to take a lap around the place first just looking, and then go around again to do my shopping in hopes of reducing my impulse buying.  Again, it’s these little things that get me!

Image

Image

A barn behind the store.  

Image

The hens were by no means shy…they all came running over to say hello!

After we came back, I went to the gym, and got in a 30 minute run with intervals ranging between 6.5 and 8.0 mph.  I also did a shoulder and tricep workout with a few different ab exercises added on to the end.

Before I knew it the day had flown by, and it was already dinner time.  For dinner, I made a Lentil and Wild Rice soup from a soup mix I bought at Echo Hill.  I added 2 cups each of carrots, celery, and cabbage, 1 can of diced tomatoes, and one pound of cubed chicken breasts. I added some turmeric and cumin to mine to give the flavor some oomph!  It was hearty and filling and oh so good.

Image

There’s a ton of leftovers…guess I know what I’m having for lunch tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

