…and I’m back!

So it seems I have fallen off the face of the blogging earth for awhile, and I do apologize for that. I was hit with extreme fatigue, then an awful sinus infection, and now I have midterm exams coming up, so I have been super busy, and have not had the time or energy to post!

I’m not sure what was up with the fatigue I was feeling…it could have been because I had the sinus infection coming on.  I also realized I might have had too large a calorie deficit for how much I was working out while I was at school simply because I’m on the run a lot.  Anyways, my body was definitely telling me something.  I had no motivation to workout.  My workouts were tough to get through.  Running just two miles was a challenge.  While I always make sure to  incorporate one rest day into each week, I felt as if one was not enough.  I took a few days off from the gym, and started taking it a little easier when I did workout.  This was rough for me because I was feeling as if this lack of effort into my workouts was going to show up on the scale at the end of the week. Turns out, it didn’t and I was actually a few pounds under what I normally weigh.  I slowly started feeling more energetic this past week, and was able to increase the intensity of my workouts each day.  My stamina is starting to get back to where it used to be on my runs, and today I was able to complete my Saturday long run – 6.2 miles in one hour, which is actually a good long run for me!  I wasn’t expecting to feel as good as I did after I started running this morning.  Fifteen minutes into my run and I was into a smooth rhythm and felt like I could keep on going – and so I did, and I felt awesome afterwards!  I also started incorporating another source of carbs on most days these past two weeks to give me more energy.  I really had to play around a little bit to figure out what was causing this funk. 

I wanted to share an article from Shape magazine that lists some signs that you may be overtraining and need to take a little bit of a rest. 

http://www.shape.com/fitness/workouts/9-reasons-skip-your-workout-sometimes

Rest days actually may end up helping you through a weight loss plateau, or through a period of fatigue.  It’s important to listen to what your body is telling you.  Chances are if you feel really tired and lethargic, you’re body really does need to rest.  You’ll come out stronger and more motivated in the end.  And if you’re feeling super hungry or having a extreme cravings for something, that’s probably your body telling you that you are lacking in a nutrient.  

Our bodies are pretty smart, huh?!  We just need to take the time to listen to them 🙂

2 thoughts on “…and I’m back!

  1. Oh yeah I get that for sure. Rest days are the toughest but for sure necessary. Gotta listen to your body! Welcome back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

