Spaghetti Squash Spaghetti

This morning I was up early, had a bowl of oats topped with fresh berries, chopped walnuts, honey and cinnamon, hurriedly got dressed for the gym and I was on my way!

berryoats

As I stepped out the door, I was greeted by the sound of chirping birds, the crisp morning air and the rising sun.

morningwalk

I love being out during the weekend mornings in the city because the streets are practically empty.  Everyone thinks New York is the city that never sleeps.  Let me correct you – New York is the city that goes out for all hours of the night and then sleeps half of the next day away.  The first time I was out during a weekend morning in the city, I was shocked by how quiet it was and how empty the streets were.  Now, I cherish these moments in the city, as they do not happen often and all the hustle and bustle of city life can get overwhelming.

Today’s workout included a long run (4.5 miles in 40 minutes) followed by an intense ab workout.  Still on my runner’s high on my walk home from the gym, I stopped and treated myself to a caramel flavored coffee from this coffee shop called, Financier Patisserie.

financierpatisserie

I love the small touch of giving a mini financier with each coffee!

When I got home I made an omelet with two egg whites, and one egg filled with mushrooms, tomatoes, spinach, onions, and some feta cheese.

eggwhiteveggieomelet

I spent most of the day catching up on some work for next week.  Before I knew it, it was dinner time.  When I planned my meals for this next week, I was in the mood for spaghetti with a meat pasta sauce.  I knew I wanted to make the sauce myself instead of buying a jar, and I knew I wanted to use spaghetti squash rather than regular spaghetti since I rarely eat pasta anymore.

Into the sauce went:  

1 28 oz can of diced tomatoes

1 can of tomato paste

1/2 cup chicken broth

1 lb lean ground turkey, already browned and drained

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

1/2 of an onion, chopped

1/3 c. sliced mushrooms

Some oregano, basil, parsley, thyme and a just little bit of both crushed red pepper and chili powder

1 T. olive oil

Directions:

1.  First, brown the ground turkey in a pan and drain the grease, if any.

2.  In a larger pot, drizzle the olive oil.  Add all spices, onions and garlic.

3.  When onions are clear, add the remaining ingredients.

4.  Cover and simmer for about 40 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Easy as that!  This sauce recipe makes roughly 6 servings, depending how much sauce you like on your “spaghetti.”

Now, for the spaghetti squash…

1.  Cut the spaghetti squash in half, length wise.  Spoon out the seeds and guts.

2.  Soak both halves, face down in a bowl of water for about 7-10 minutes.

IMG_1037

3.  Then place both halves, face down on a microwaveable plate, and microwave for 10 minutes.

4.  Be careful when removing the plate from the microwave afterwards.  The plate and the squash get really hot.

5.  Using a fork to scrape the inside of the squash (again, be careful.  The squash gets really hot), it should come out like spaghetti strands.

For 1 cup of spaghetti squash, and a serving of the sauce:  calories =  176.

If you’re heavy on the sauce, like I am, and only get four servings out of the sauce:  calories = 264.

The finished product looks like this:

IMG_1040

I served my spaghetti with a spinach salad with cucumbers, tomatoes and freshly shaved parmesan cheese with balsamic vinegar and a little bit of olive oil as the dressing.

I hadn’t had any form of spaghetti for the longest time before this, so it really hit the spot and I have leftovers to use into this next week for a fast meal option!

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend! 🙂

One thought on “Spaghetti Squash Spaghetti

  1. Pingback: Mexican Spaghetti Squash Casserole | Blondes Have More Run

Leave a Reply

