Wheat Berry Squared

I had a pretty intense workout today, which was much needed after not getting my cardio in at the gym yesterday.  (I walked all the way to the gym, realized I forgot a hair tie and the key to my lock, so had to turn around and walk all the way home with no workout in…ugh!)  So yeah, I had a good workout today…remembering the key to my lock and a hair tie certainly helped.  Today was a cardio and leg day.  I mixed things up with my workout today incorporating some plyometrics into my routine. You can head over to my Daily Workout Log to check that out.

On my way home from the gym, I passed a fruit stand that had all berries 2 for $3.00 which is an awesome deal, considering a box of strawberries alone at nearby grocery stores is $6.00 – welcome to New York.  I bought a box of strawberries and a box of blueberries and they looked goooood!

Image

Within my 8-block walk home from the fruit stand, I brainstormed something different I could do for lunch with the berries.  I knew I needed some carbs after the workout I just had, and I hadn’t had wheat berries in a while…so I settled on creating a Blueberry Wheat Berry Salad. That’s right…I put the berry in wheat berry.  😛

Ingredients:

1/4 cup hard winter wheat berries

1 stalk of celery, chopped

juice from 1/4 of a lemon

handful of fresh blueberries

1/2 t. parsley

1 t. olive oil

about 1 T. chopped walnuts

about 1 T. Fat-free crumbled feta cheese

Image

Directions:

1.  Cover the wheat berries with water.  The water should be about an inch or two higher than the wheat berries.  When water starts to boil, cover and simmer for an hour, stirring occasionally.

2.  Drain the water from the pot and allow wheat berries to cool a little bit.

3.  In a bowl combine the wheat berries and the rest of the ingredients.

4.  Top with the feta.

 Image

3 thoughts on “Wheat Berry Squared

  1. Pingback: Healthy Easter Recipe Ideas | Blondes Have More Run

Leave a Reply

