Creamy Butternut Squash Soup

Tonight’s dinner was a bowl full of creamy butternut squash soup.  I got a butternut squash last weekend when I was home, left to go back to NY for the week, came back to PA this weekend and it was still here, untouched.  My mom has no clue what to do with these uncommon, healthy foods I buy.  She asks me what to do with them before I go back to NY and I give her several ideas, and she still has no idea what to do with them! Haha.  So after finding the squash still here this weekend and in perfectly good condition, I had to decide how I wanted to use it…a butternut squash mac and cheese or a creamy soup?  I’ve been feeling like I’m getting sick lately, and all I want when I’m sick is soup, so the butternut squash soup it was!

Ingredients:

5 cups Low-sodium, fat-free chicken broth

1 small-medium sized butternut squash, seeded, peeled, & chopped into about 1 inch pieces

1/2 an Onion, chopped

8 oz of a frozen Mirepoix mix (or you can use 1 celery stick, 1 carrot, another 1/2 onion, all chopped)

1/4 cup low-fat milk (optional)

1 tsp sage

Directions:

1.  Combine all ingredients in large pot.  When broth starts to boil, cover and simmer for about 30-40 minutes until butternut squash, and the rest of the vegetables are soft.

2.  Pour all ingredients into a food processor or blender and blend until smooth.  Add about 1/4 cup of a low-fat milk until you reach desired consistency.

ImageI’m not a huge butternut squash fan (I don’t dislike it either), but I really liked this soup.  It’s very low-cal too…about 50 calories per cup!  The consistency of the soup was perfect.  The squash gave it such a thick and creamy texture! And the sage was a great complimenting spice.  It left me feeling full and satisfied 🙂

Leave a Reply

