Today’s Leg and Ab workout!

This morning started out with Ezekiel Bread french toast topped with berries and a cup of Dunkin’ Donuts Strawberry Shortcake flavored coffee.  Then, I was off to the gym for some cardio and a leg workout.  After 20 minutes on an incline elliptical, I completed this short leg workout:

1. Leg Extension – 3 sets of 10 reps using 50 lbs

2.  Leg Press Machine – 3 sets of 20 reps using 70 lbs

3.  Leg Curl – 3 sets of 12 using 30 lbs

4. Alternating Jump Lunges – 3 sets of 20

…and then I did an ab workout that looks like this:

1.  Hip Lifts – 3 sets of 20

2.  Stability Ball Alternating Side Crunches – 3 sets of 30 reps (15 right, 15 left)

3.  Ball Exchange with Stability Ball – 3 sets of 15 reps

If you’re unfamiliar with this exercise, here’s a picture:

Image

4.  Side Plank Hip Dips – 3 sets of 20 reps on each side, after last set hold in side plank for 30 seconds

Usually I have one rest day a week.  Sometimes if I’m really feeling energetic, I workout all 7 days a week and other times due to a busy schedule I can only work out 5 days a week.  Either way, I’m always looking ahead in my schedule to plan my rest day.  Then, according to my rest day, I plan my leg workout day.  I always try to do my leg workout the day before a rest day.  Doing my leg workout on the day before my rest day each week is a way to give my legs time to recover before working out again.  Cardio, especially running, is always so rough when my legs are sore and then I’m unable to have a good workout so it’s a waste.  Having sore arms or abs doesn’t have as much of an impact, if any, on my cardio.

2 thoughts on “Today’s Leg and Ab workout!

Leave a Reply

