Healthy Cream of Broccoli Soup

My favorite thing to get at Panera Bread was always the creamy broccoli cheddar soup!  That is comfort food at its best!  Of course, since I started to eat healthier, I no longer eat creamy soups because they are loaded with fat.  So today I have for you a replacement for that creamy broccoli cheddar soup.  I admit, it’s not quite the same nor as tasty as Panera’s version, but if you’re a clean eater and you have a hankering for cream of broccoli soup, this recipe gets the job done!

Ingredients:

2 bunches of broccoli cut into big chunks

6 cups of low sodium, fat-free chicken broth

1 chopped carrot

1 medium yellow onion cut into chunks

1 clove of minced garlic

some fresh ground pepper to taste

Directions:

1.  Combine all ingredients in large pot, cover, and bring to a boil for 30 minutes.

2.  When done take out about 1 cup of the broth only and set aside.

3.  Blend what is left in the pot.  If the consistency is too thick, add some of the broth you set aside.

You can add plain non-fat greek yogurt or sour cream to make a creamier consistency, but that will add calories.  I thought it was creamy enough without either of these.  I did add some fat-free shredded cheddar to mine though.

Without the cheese, yogurt or sour cream in the recipe, this soup is 0 Weight Watchers points!  This is so low-cal and guilt free that I admittedly helped myself to two bowls for lunch 🙂

Image

8 thoughts on “Healthy Cream of Broccoli Soup

    • I think it’s definitely worth it! As someone who makes a lot of smoothies, shakes, and cooks single servings a lot, I really like the magic bullet. For this soup I used the magic bullet and it worked out perfectly!

Leave a Reply

