Asian Slaw

Spring is in the air! Yesterday it was so warm, I was able to be outside without a jacket – granted I had a pretty heavy sweater on, but hey, we’re getting somewhere here!  Now that Valentine’s Day is behind us, I’ve already seen a few Easter commercials on TV this morning as I’m watching the news.  Holy cow!

Last night, I made a healthy, low-cal cheesecake in a little heart-shaped tin!  …and then I ate it before I got to take pictures.  If anyone reading this a food blogger, don’t you hate when this happens?!?!  I’m thinking of making it again today and taking pictures so I can share the recipe.

For now, let’s get on to this asian slaw, shall we?  If you saw my second last post, last night’s dinner was Asian Pulled Pork with Asian Slaw.

asianpork

You might notice a lot of times I don’t include exact measurements in my posts.  Usually, I just eyeball things and it’s not like baking, so exact measurements aren’t necessary.  I usually try to give you a ballpark idea of how much I use of each ingredient, so you can judge from there and adjust it to your own taste. This is one of those recipes where  I just drizzled some of this, drizzled some of that, added a few shakes of a spice…

asianslaw

The base of this is broccoli slaw.  You can find it already pre-packaged with the salads in the grocery store.  It’s a mixture of broccoli, red cabbage and carrots.  I used about 1/3 of the package to make this salad.  Then I added:

1-2 teaspoons of sesame oil

1 T. Rice Wine Vinegar

1/2 t. Apple Cider Vinegar

Sprinkle as many sesame seeds on there as you’d like

Add some fresh ground pepper

Toss and let set for about 15-20 minutes to marinade.

2 thoughts on “Asian Slaw

Leave a Reply

