Lemon-Parmesan Chicken

Is it Summer yet?  What about Spring?  I’ll even take Spring.  A week into the semester and I’m already swamped with work.  I really wish I would have more time to post and read other blogs for new recipe and workout ideas but I have such limited time for that anymore 😦 A few posts a week will have to do for now.  I have a ton of new recipes I want to share, so I’m going to try my best to get them up ASAP.

Last night we got hit with Nemo, the huge snow storm that was all the buzz the past two days.  I’m back in PA for the weekend, and here we only got about 4 1/2 inches of snow.  I was kind of bummed we didn’t get more.  I love being snowed in…although it doesn’t happen too often here.  The meteorologists got my hopes up on this one!  The only good thing about not getting too much snow from Nemo – I was able to get to the gym early without a problem.

Today’s breakfast, as usual, blueberry steel-cut oats sprinkled with cinnamon and a drop of vanilla extract.

ImageAfter breakfast, I went to the gym and got in a 40 minute run.

Then it was back home to keep on trucking through this massive amount of school work…by the way, I can’t tell you how nice it is to be writing on my blog rather than writing another freaking essay!

For lunch, I had my citrus-avocado salad again…obviously, I can’t get enough of it.

For dinner, I made something very similar to Chicken Francaise – we’ll call it Lemon-Parmesan Chicken.Image

In a large pan, heat a drizzle of olive oil and a clove of crushed garlic over medium heat.  Add 6 chicken breasts (I cut larger ones in half, so I had about 10 pieces of chicken in total), about 2 cups of chicken broth, 1/4 cup grated parmesan, juice from one lemon, some fresh pepper, and parsley.  I added one tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the sauce, but if you don’t mind having a thinner sauce, you can omit.  Lastly I added some sliced red bell peppers to add some color and about two tablespoons of capers.  I served it over angel hair pasta, but I passed on the pasta.  The pasta was mainly for others in my family who don’t eat as healthy as I do. I ate the chicken by itself with a side of steamed broccoli and asparagus and it was just as tasty without the pasta.  You can also make this recipe in the crock pot over low/medium heat and throw in the lemon slices with it instead of just the juice. The chicken really soaks up the flavors in the crock pot.

Image

For dessert, vanilla chobani, with Chocolate flavored PB2 with cut up strawberries and banana slices!  It tasted a little bit like a banana split – love this stuff!

Image

I’m off to bed, so I can have another day full of school work and traveling back to the city tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Lemon-Parmesan Chicken

  1. Pingback: PB&J Overnight Oats | Blondes Have More Run

Leave a Reply

