Cooking for one!

Hello all!  I’m back at my apartment in NY and starting to get settled in again.  I’m a very organized and self-disciplined person, so I’m really trying to get into a rhythm and schedule here, where I can fit in regular gym times each day around my class schedule and also have time to do homework and keep updating my blog!  This morning started out with a bright and early walk…11 blocks to the gym in the bitter cold at 6:30 am!  I got in a 35 minute, 3.8 mile run, a ten minute ab workout and made my way back home.  My walk home was much more pleasant than my walk there, considering the sun was now out, the streets were filled with business-men and women all making their way to work, others out walking their dogs, and joggers getting in their morning workout, not to mention my workout was now done and out of the way for the day!  For breakfast, I had my usual steel-cut oats, with blueberries, honey and some walnuts. I also had three egg whites.   After breakfast and a shower I was off to class!

As I may have mentioned in my last post, I was super busy all weekend getting ready to come back to the city.  Grocery shopping in the city is SUCH a pain.  First of all, groceries are usually more expensive in the city, as are most things.  Second, I don’t have the luxury of loading groceries from the shopping cart right into the trunk of my car when I’m in the city. Instead, I have to carry all the bags from the grocery store all the way back to my apartment ( one of the many things I never thought about until I actually lived in the city.)  Milk now requires its own shopping trip 😛 And this is why I like to do my grocery shopping back home in PA and bring my groceries back to New York whenever possible!

Luckily, I had the chance to do that this past weekend. Due to the limited counter space in my apartment, I figured it would also be a good idea to prep all veggies, fruits and meats before coming back to NY too!  I also like the idea of prepping everything right after grocery shopping because when I’m really hungry for a snack or I have the night time munchies, it is super easy to go in the fridge, grab a bag of pre-cut peppers, celery or carrots and hummus and have a healthy snack.  It also eliminates all the cutting I have to do to each and every veggie I top my salads with.  I make a salad almost every day for lunch and this saves me so much time.  Last night for dinner I was also easily able to throw together a quick dinner by simply tossing a bunch of vegetables from the zip-lock baggies in a pan and sautéing them.

Image

For the proteins, I always have chicken breasts, salmon, and ground turkey in my freezer during the week.  I buy packages of individually wrapped salmon from Wegmans.  I used to get individually wrapped chicken breasts by perdue.  Since I’m usually cooking for one when I’m away at school, these individually wrapped items make it super easy, rather than having to open a whole pack of chicken breasts, only to cook one. The downside for these individually wrapped items?  The high cost.

To save some money I bought two 1 lb packs of chicken breasts, and they were each a little less than four dollars.  Each pack had four breasts.  This also made it easy to make sure each breast was the appropriate serving size of 4 oz.  To prep the chicken, I opened the packages, and put each breast in its own freezer zip-lock bag. In doing this, I got 8 chicken breasts for a little less than $8 dollars. Perdue Perfect Portions bag contains 5 breasts for around $8.

To prep the ground turkey, I split it into two 4 oz portions and one 8 oz portion.  I turned each of the 4 oz portions into turkey burgers and the one 8 oz portion into a mini turkey meatloaf, and each was separately bagged to then be frozen.   With the meatloaf, I eat half, and save the leftovers in the fridge for a meal the next day.

Image

I love experimenting to make different flavors of turkey burgers and meatloafs to mix it up a bit.  Here, I made a Teriyaki Turkey Burger and a Roasted Red Pepper w/ Feta Turkey Burger, and a Buffalo-Bleu Cheese Meatloaf (I usually like to make this meatloaf with ground chicken).  I will post these recipes in separate posts later once I cook them and have pictures 🙂

7 thoughts on “Cooking for one!

  1. Ha, you are so much more organized than me.

    It also took me a long time to get used to grocery shopping in NYC. I finally broke down and bought one of those grocery/laundry carts you see old ladies pushing around all the time. At first I felt silly with it but then I realized I don’t have to go to the grocery store 5 times a week anymore. So then I started to feel smart and not so silly.

  2. I love the organization! I never thought of making the turkey burgers and storing them away in the freezer since I usually just like to cook the whole package at once…but that’s a good idea and ill be trying it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

