Pumpkin Pie Oats

I love steel-cut oats as my breakfast before I head to the gym in the morning.  They’re quick and easy, since I prep a batch in the beginning of each week.  All I have to do is pop it in the microwave for a 1-2 minutes and breakfast is served.  My favorite way to eat them is to add some frozen berries to it, a drizzle of honey, a sprinkle of cinnamon and some chopped walnuts. Yum.  But lately I’ve been thinking I should probably step outside of my comfort zone a little bit and experiment with more toppings and flavors!  Today I made pumpkin pie flavor.  I liked it…it was something different, but I still prefer my berries.  Here’s my recipe!

1/2 cup steel-cut oats (cooked)

2 T. Pumpkin Puree

1/2 t. pumpkin pie spice

1/2 t. cinnamon

1/4 t. nutmeg

drop of vanilla extract

drizzle of a low-cal & low-fat syrup

chopped walnuts or pecans

Image

Question for you guys:  What is your favorite way to eat oats?

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Oats

Leave a Reply

