Clean Eating Butternut Squash Ravioli

Happy Monday everyone!  It’s another snowy day here in the northeast.  I’m trying to enjoy my last few days off before heading back to NY for the next semester.  I love the excitement of being in the city, but I also love being back in the good old suburbs of PA.  I actually think it took me moving to the city to really appreciate the things I love about PA.  One of the things about living in NY that I’m not a huge fan of is the small size of the apartments.  My roommates and I actually really lucked out with our apartment – 1) It was newly renovated before we moved in, so we have a brand new kitchen, bathroom, and hardwood floors

Image

My kitchen in NY

2) Our kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms, and living room are pretty spacious for the city 3) We live on the second floor, so moving in was fairly easy.  But still, it is on the tinier side.  So when I’m home, back in PA, I try to really take advantage of our large, open kitchen and all the counter space I have to work on when I cook!  This is the time for me to try new recipes that will most likely get pretty messy, just because it’s me cooking 🙂

I saw this recipe for Butternut Squash Ravioli on Clean Eating magazine’s website.  I’ve been wanting to try it out for awhile now, so I attempted to make it for dinner last night.  The recipe I followed is here.  The recipe offers three different sauces to top the raviolis with – a mushroom sauce, asian sauce, or tomato-sage sauce.  I chose the tomato-sage sauce.

I had kale in my fridge I needed to use up, so I figured I would add sautéed kale and onions to the butternut squash filling in these raviolis.  I couldn’t find whole wheat wonton wrappers at my grocery store, so I had to get the regular ones.  A word of caution though – if you’re going to try this recipe, make sure to really seal the wontons around the edges and don’t let them in the boiling water too long!  I put half of the raviolis in the water at a time, so in my first half of raviolis, a lot of them fell apart.  I think I may have let them boil too long.  When I put the second half of raviolis in, I didn’t let them in the water for longer than 2 1/2 to 3 minutes and I made sure they were completely sealed around the edges before I put them in the water.  They came out much better.

Image

Image

Image

I thought it was pretty good.  Not amazing, but I think that was because I wasn’t too fond of the texture of the wonton wrappers.

If you’ve tried this recipe before or try it in the future and you use a different sauce or different wonton wrappers, let me know how it gets! 🙂

One thought on “Clean Eating Butternut Squash Ravioli

Leave a Reply

